Maybe. After application, Medicaid checks past asset transfers (including asset transfers made by one’s spouse), during a specific time frame to ensure no assets were sold for less than fair market value or given away. In Arkansas there is a 60 month (5 year) “look-back period.” If you have disposed of assets, you are not permanently ineligible, but eligibility would be delayed. Medicaid applies a “penalty” factor (based on the cost of nursing home care in Arkansas) to the amount you have disposed of to determine the duration of the penalty. Simply put, if you gave away enough to pay for 12 months of nursing home care, your eligibility for Medicaid would be delayed by one year.
/ FAQ / Can you give away assets to qualify for Medicaid, after you find out that you need nursing home care?